NJ DWI/DUI Defense Attorney

Many people in New Jersey consider driving under the influence/driving while intoxicated to be a relatively minor offense and, all too often, people charged with a DUI do not take their case as seriously as they should. In reality, a DUI charge can have extremely serious and life-altering consequences. The good news is that a highly experienced NJ DUI/DWI defense attorney can help you in many ways to achieve the most positive outcome that is possible in your case. At the Law Offices of Kurt M. Resch, P.C., we have been successfully handling drunk driving cases in New Jersey for more than three decades and we have the knowledge and skill to help you during this often stressful time.

DWI Charges in NJ

A driver in New Jersey is automatically considered to be under the influence if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08 percent. It is important to note that NJ has a Zero Tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21 that sets their limit at 0.02 percent, which is easily attainable even after a few sips of alcohol. A BAC can be tested by law enforcement officers in a few different ways, including via a breath test at the police station or a blood test after your arrest. If your BAC is over the legal limit, you will almost certainly be charged with DUI and the results of the chemical test can be used against you in your case.

You may not realize that you can also be charged with DWI if your BAC is unknown or is below the legal limit if a police officer believes that you show signs of impairment. Officers commonly claim they observed the following and more to indicate that you were intoxicated:

  • Odor of alcohol on you or in the vehicle
  • Bloodshot, glassy, or watery eyes
  • Slurring your words
  • Swaying or troubling standing
  • Poor performance on roadside field sobriety tests

Fortunately, if you seek proper legal assistance, there are many ways an attorney can challenge both the results of chemical tests and an officer’s observations in court. This is only one of several defenses commonly used to fight against DUI charges.

NJ DWI/DUI Defense Attorney

Penalties of Driving Under the Influence

An effective defense is so important in a DUI/DWI case because the penalties for a conviction under New Jersey law can be severe. Some of the many potential DUI penalties can include:

  • Suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • $1,000 per year surcharge paid to the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) for three years
  • Additional fees and costs
  • 30 days in jail
  • When your license is reinstated, an ignition interlock may be installed on your vehicle
  • Participation in intoxicated driver education classes

The above penalties are for a first-time offender and, as you can see, it may cost you up to $4,000 or more when everything is paid to the court and MVC. An experienced DUI defense attorney can help to get your charges amended and your penalties reduced whenever possible.

In addition, the penalties for a DUI/DWI increase substantially if you have prior convictions. For example, if convicted of a 3rd offense, your license will be suspended for ten years and you will spend up to 180 days behind bars. For this reason and more, it is imperative to always avoid even a single conviction on your record.

DWI Charges in NJ

NJ DWI/DUI Process

Once you are arrested for DUI/DWI, you may not know where to turn. You will receive a summons to come to court and your license can be suspended immediately. You should seek help from an experienced attorney as soon as possible to both appear in court on your behalf and appeal your license suspension whenever possible

Attorney Kurt Resch can work to identify any potential legal defenses that are available in your case to keep out important evidence or even have your case dismissed. We can also negotiate with prosecutors for a favorable plea deal to limit the consequences you face.

Discuss Your Case with an Experienced DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer as Soon as Possible

If you have been charged with a DWI in Bergen, Passaic, or Hudson Counties, you should not hesitate to call the Law Offices of Kurt M. Resch, P.C. for help with your case. We have 35 years of experience handling alcohol-related cases and you can rely on us to protect your rights. Call today at 201-488-5454.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
FOR MORE IFORMATION, CONTACT OUR NJ DWI/DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEY TODAY!