New Jersey Drug Possession Laws
Tens of thousands of people throughout the state of New Jersey are arrested on suspicion of drug possession on an annual basis. Many of these arrests result in charges of possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS), which can bring with it potentially serious penalties. To minimize these penalties, it is critical for anyone facing New Jersey drug charges to consult with a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Penalties for Drug Possession
If authorities believe that you possessed or had access to drugs that were meant for your own personal use only, you will likely be charged with simple drug possession. The penalties for drug possession are anything but simple, however, and can include the following:
- For less than 50 grams – fine up to $1,000 and six months in jail
- More than 50 grams – fine up to $25,000 and 18 months in prison
Penalties for Possession with Intent to Distribute
If authorities found drugs packaged in a way that seemed you intended to sell them or discovered other suspicious circumstances, you may be charged with possession with the intent to distribute the drugs. This does not require an officer actually seeing you distribute or sell the drugs, as merely having the appearance of plans to distribute can be enough to support this charge. Maximum penalties for this charge include:
- Less than one ounce – fine up to $25,000 and 18 months in prison
- One ounce to five pounds – fine up to $25,000 and five years in prison
- Five to 25 pounds – fine up to $150,000 and 10 years in prison
- More than 25 pounds – fine up to $300,000 and 20 years in prison
The penalties for all drug possession crimes can be increased if you were accused of possession near a school or park or if you have prior drug convictions on your criminal record already.
Fortunately, there are several methods of defending against New Jersey drug charges and an attorney can evaluate your situation and identify any possible defenses in your case to limit or even eliminate any penalties.
Call 201-488-5454 today for more information.
At the Law Offices of Kurt M. Resch, we are thoroughly familiar with all New Jersey drug possession laws and understand how to effectively defend against possession charges. We can handle cases involving simple possession, possession with intent to distribute, or any other allegations involving CDS. Please call so we can begin working on your case as soon as possible.